lucygreenclean

Living a balanced green lifestyle

We Need to Talk

Leave a comment

The other day, I was listening to a woman who had had a heart attack when she was in her mid-30s.

 

She talked about the experience as a terrifying one, not only because of the unspeakable pain she endured but also because of the aftermath of fear.

 

Fear of dying.

 

Her fear was so tremendous that it paralyzed her and, for a while, she could not function as a person. She needed someone to be with her constantly because she thought that if she had another heart attack, that person would be able to call 9-1-1 and get help for her.

 

I could not relate to her experience for a couple of reasons. One, I have never had a heart attack. Two, death is not frightening to me.

 

Be Not Afraid of Death

It wasn’t until a few years ago that I began to think of death in a whole different way. Of course, because I had been a born-again Christian for about 20 years at that time, I knew that when I died, I would go to Heaven and be with the Lord Jesus. But it wasn’t real. It was head knowledge. I think my heart got it to some extent, but it was still sketchy. It was kind of like grasping a slippery fish that’s fighting for its life. You got it, then you don’t.

 

In other words, the understanding of what happens after death was in my head but not in my heart.

 

Today, while it still is not real (I suppose it doesn’t really get real until you’ve died), it’s more real than it used to be. I think that slippery fish isn’t fighting as hard, and I’m able to hold it a bit longer.

 

The Difference

This woman: Today, she has an awareness crusade of sorts. Her message is directed at women to try to hammer into them that they MUST know that heart disease is the Number 1 killer of women. They need to go to the doctor and take all these preventive measures. They need to stay on top of diet, exercise, testing for this and that so they will not go through what she went through.

 

I’m not saying that’s a bad thing. But I have a better answer.

 

Me: We are not going to live forever on this earth. No, I’m not saying we should pig out and sit on the couch all day long.

 

Her peace comes from doing all the “right” things. My peace comes from resting in Jesus.

 

What’s Unseen is More Real Than What Is Seen

Most people don’t understand that God spoke into existence everything that we see on this Earth–all of natural creation. He is Spirit, and the spiritual world is more dominant–or maybe I should say more powerful–than the physical world.

 

That just goes over the heads of most because most people think that what they detect with their 5 senses is the only reality. But once that’s gone, you’re left with what? The spiritual.

 

We are not only flesh and blood. We have a spirit. Whether you believe that or not, it is not up for debate. Facts are not debatable, but you can choose not to believe them.

 

Is the Spiritual World Green?

The spirit cares nothing about being green, because green issues only work with the flesh and physical part of us.

 

When I die, I won’t care if I eat organic food, or about GMOs that are destroying the environment and health, or about the Dead Zone in the Gulf of Mexico.

 

The physical world and the spiritual world exist on two entirely different planes. Again, the spirit cares nothing about being green.

 

We must not just think about how green we should live on this Earth. We must come to a place of knowing who we are in the spiritual realm.

 

Be Aware

And I will say, emphatically, that while some people say there are many ways to the divine, there aren’t.

 

There aren’t.

 

I’m sorry if I’ve burst your bubble. But I have to tell you that. You can choose to accept it or reject it. If you reject it, I hope we can still be friends.

 

You see, the Lord Jesus said that He is the only way to the Father (John 14:6), meaning, the only way to Father God, the Almighty.

 

So either He’s telling the truth or He’s lying. It cannot be both “there are many ways to the divine,” and Jesus’s statement that “I am the only way.” One of those statements is untrue.

 

Spiritual Things Cannot Be Forced

If you’re not understanding what I’m explaining, it’s not because you won’t get it at some point. Spiritual things cannot be forced the way you can’t force a baby to grow into an adult tomorrow. The way you can’t force a 3-year-old to understand calculus no matter how many times you explain it.

 

You might be trying too hard to understand it with your brain. You cannot understand spiritual things just with your brain (in fact, your brain often helps you misunderstand spiritual things) because the spiritual and physical worlds do not exist on the same plane. If you don’t speak Russian and someone’s talking to you in Russian, you will not understand a word he is saying. But that does not mean he isn’t saying something. That just means you don’t know Russian. Spirit and physical, in a sense, are two different languages.

 

But God can open the eyes of your spirit so that you will see that not only is Jesus the only way to Him, but that He loves you so, so, so much, no matter what your background is. He will open your spiritual eyes if you are willing to let Him.

 

Author: Comic Mom

I believe kids should have comics that are fun and don't have dark themes or questionable content. I also believe we--including kids--can achieve way more than we allow ourselves to. When my son was 8, he began drawing a comic strip, which kids loved. I encouraged him to turn his comics into a book, and he did. I published his first book shortly after he turned 14 and his second book when he was 15.

Leave a Reply

