lucygreenclean

Living a balanced green lifestyle

Is anyone 100% green?

Leave a comment

No, not unless you live in a cave off the grid, grow all your own food, and make all your clothes with things found in nature (or trade with someone with a like lifestyle).

 

If you don’t live in a cave off the grid, then it is hypocrisy to accuse someone else of using paper towels, driving a car, flushing the toilet too many times, or whatever your gripe may be. How is it hypocrisy? Can we be honest? Well, for one, you are reading this blog either on a computer or another device, which is made of synthetic materials. By doing so, you are supporting synthetic materials that were made with chemicals.

 

If you find yourself frowning on people who use paper towels or napkins, who drive a gas-guzzling car–or any car, or who like to flush the toilet after doing Number 1, you will drive other people away from you. Maybe you don’t care. But…if you do want to have friends, you are the one I’m speaking to. You must find a balance!

 

That’s one of the reasons I’m a proponent of living a balanced green life. I’m certainly not willing to surrender my modern-day comforts of a home, or my computer, or my cell phone.

 

We cannot live in a bubble, but we can find a balance and not fall into a ditch called overboard or fanatical.

I’m sure people have accused me of being overboard and fanatical once upon a time. I have since pulled myself out of the ditch and am moving more down the balanced road.

 

The Bible is . . . Green?

 

The Bible even makes mention of what we would now consider green stewardship. I’ll give you two instances. One is found in the Old Testament and the other is in the New Testament.

  • God put man (and woman) on the earth to take care of it. (Genesis 2:15)

Green translation: Humans are in charge of the earth to take good care of it.

  • The Lord Jesus said do not waste. (John 6:12)

Green translation: While Jesus was referring to food, this is a principle that I believe can be taken in other areas of life. Do not be wasteful, throwing things away that maybe someone else could use.

 

If you study the Bible, you will see that there are many principles in there that we would say are good environmental stewardship for today. Who said the Bible isn’t relevant?

Author: Comic Mom

I believe kids should have comics that are fun and don't have dark themes or questionable content. I also believe we--including kids--can achieve way more than we allow ourselves to. When my son was 8, he began drawing a comic strip, which kids loved. I encouraged him to turn his comics into a book, and he did. I published his first book shortly after he turned 14 and his second book when he was 15.

Leave a Reply

